New Jersey Elevator, Escalator, Moving Walkway Mechanic Contractor License Bond
New Jersey legislature passed a law requiring all elevator mechanics to be licensed. Current technicians that have been in the industry can apply during the grandfather period which expired May 21, 2019. After that date the applicant must take an exam that will be administered 4 times a year. A two (2) year license will be issued that expires September 30, 2020 *Update February 19, 2020 – The Elevator Board is sending out an incorrect letter stating a bond is required that expires September 2021. IT SHOULD BE 2020 (TWO THOUSAND TWENTY) This has been confirmed with the Board.
Go to the NJ Div. of Consumer Affairs webpage and read about the licensing law, links to applications, rules & regulations. Elevator, Escalator, and Moving Walkway Mechanics Licensing Board (Consumer Affairs) Webpage
Apply to register as a licensed elevator – escalator – moving walkway mechanic under the grandfather period. After the grandfather period passing an exam will be required. The application fee is $100. The bond is not required when applying to be approved.
After being approved, the applicant must then apply for the license. The license is for the individual technician, not the business. The biennial (2 year) license fee is $260. The current bond period expires September 30, 2020, which is coincides with the expiration / renewal of the license.
A $10,000. surety license bond must be furnished with the license application. We issue the elevator bond for a low price of $50. for the two year period.
We will process the bond within 24-48 business hours, then EMAIL it to you. You can then download and/or print it to submit to the elevator board.